Have at you!

[Kitchen Diaries] Spaghetti with Clams

Posted on: February 27, 2014

I’m currently down with another cold and as the case being such, haven’t been in the mood to ask friends/family to eat out. I was craving for some pasta and decided to make some on my own instead. Since I wasn’t in the mood to slave over something too complicated in the kitchen, I thought I’d go with the very simple Spaghetti with Clams.

I didn’t follow a specific recipe for this since I’ve watched so many people cook pasta dishes before (both on TV and in person). The ingredients I used for this dish are quite basic too:

  • Olive oil
  • Cooking oil
  • Butter (I used the salted one from Elle & Vire)
  • Minced garlic
  • Salt
  • Spaghetti (you may use another type of pasta, if that’s what you want)
  • Flat leaf parsley (optional)
  • Water
  • Fresh clams

Pasta photo DSC_0753_zps5d4c912e.jpgFirst off, I put a bit of regular cooking oil and a pinch of salt into a pot of water and let it boil. Once it was ready, I placed my spaghetti into it and let it cook for a couple of minutes. When it was already al dente, I took the spaghetti out and set it aside. I reserved a small amount of the liquid for later.

Clams photo DSC_0754_zps94054f5d.jpgHaving a store inside the local wet market meant I get easy access to a wide array of seafood everyday. It also pays that we have already made friends with a lot of the vendors there, thus getting stuff at lower prices (yay!). My Dad got me just 1/4 kilo of the fresh clams since I was the only one who was going to eat them at home. Make sure to have these cleaned and cooked properly before eating. Discard any of those whose shell did not open during boiling/cooking. Afterwards, set them aside for the next step.

I had a heated pan ready with some olive oil and a knob of salted butter. I then tossed the minced garlic into the pan and waited for it to brown a bit (I love frying garlic since they smell terrific!). Once the garlic’s ready, I placed the clams back in the pan with the reserved liquid from the pasta.

Pasta with Clams photo DSC_0757_zps9bc7e9d8.jpgAfter a short while, I had the cooked spaghetti join the pan and added a couple of flat leaf parsley pieces. I tossed them around to have the spaghetti coated with the oil and butter mixture. At this point, you could try and taste a bit to check if the flavors are already acceptable to you. I found mine to be good, so I no longer added any salt or pepper to it.

Pasta with Clams finished product photo DSC_0758_zps06b57e63.jpgI left them in the pan for just a minute or two longer and then transferred it onto my plate. I had Dad try it out and he said that the flavors were good, although he preferred to have the pasta just a bit softer. Mom passed since she doesn’t like anything that has to do with seafood that much.

I was satisfied with my pasta that day and knew that it was going to be something I’ll cook numerous times in the future. I might add a bit of dried chili flakes to it too, if I feel like eating something with some spicy kick to it. :)

2 Responses to "[Kitchen Diaries] Spaghetti with Clams"

This looks so delicious! Pasta with clams is one of my boyfriend’s favorite dishes but I’ve never made it for him. To be honest, I’ve always been wary of cooking with clams because I heard you can get so sick if you eat a bad one. From your experience, can I ask what percent of clams don’t open when boiling or steaming them?

Thank you!

Since we buy live clams, we often just get 2-3 pieces which don’t open successfully. Some people cook the partially closed ones a little longer to see if they’ll pop open. If you’re still in doubt with the semi opened ones, I suggest discarding them (just to be on the safe side).

Share your thoughts!

February 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

Blog Stats

  • 72,457 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

