Have at you!

Jatujak

Posted on: March 8, 2008

It’s my first time to post an entry for this new blog since deciding to delete my old one, and this first post is going to be about one of my favorite things in the world: Food.

Those who are extremely close to me know that I enjoy both the preparation and the consumption of food. It’s probably because I came from a family which enjoys different dishes and wherein connecting with other family members is usually done while having dinner together. With that being said, I was happy to give Jatujak a try when my brother suggested on having lunch there this afternoon.

Before moving on, let me just share that Jatujak, or Chatuchak, is a word referring to the weekend market in Bangkok. This market is the place where people can get anything from clothing to live animals to Thai handicrafts to food (from Wikipedia).

Anyhow, I know that Jatujak Thai Restaurant has been around for quite some time, but it was the first time we were having lunch there. The interiors were cute, with lime green and purple colors giving life to the room. I let my brother pick out the dishes we were to have, and we ended up with the following: Sampler appetizer, Sate Chicken, Chicken Curry (mild heat), Chicken Pad Thai and Jatujak’s version of the famous Thai Bagoong Rice.

Okay, chow time! The dishes were served and the presentation was pretty good. I was able to try all the dishes, and unfortunately, I don’t find their food all that special. I wouldn’t say it was bad, but I definitely think Muang Thai along Banawe Street served better Thai dishes than Jatujak.

What made me reach that conclusion? All the dishes we ordered (with the exception of the Chicken Curry, thankfully!) were extremely sweet! I know that Thai food are generally sweet, but that was just a little too much. It was a good thing I decided to wash everything down with water and not soda! Brushing that aside, I found Jatujak’s sauces for the Sampler Appetizer and Sate Chicken satisfying. Their Chicken Curry at mild heat (the least spicy of all choices) was okay for me, but both my older brother and mom think it’s still too hot for the common diner.

Overall, if I had to give a rating, I’d give Jatujak a 2 out of 5 stars. It’s not the place that would top my list of best restaurants, but I would still dine there if I find myself within its vicinity and am craving for Thai food.

**Jatujak is located at the 4th floor of SM The Block, North Edsa. I believe they also have branches at the SM Mall of Asia and SM Megamall.

Tags: , ,

Share your thoughts!

March 2008
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 90,149 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other followers

