Have at you!

Sumo Sam Lunch

Posted on: October 20, 2008

The Boyfriend and I went to Shangri La Mall to have lunch at Sumo Sam. I’ve heard that Sumo Sam is co-owned by Filipino actor, Marvin Agustin, and heard that you can sometimes catch him preparing your orders at the sushi counter.  I’ve been to Sumo Sam before the Sunday lunch with The Boyfriend but have never seen the actor at work.  Anyway, if you decide to try dining at Sumo Sam, please come early.  Just like Cyma and most of the other restaurants at The Ledge, this Japanese restaurant gets packed pretty quick.

We arrived relatively early yesterday and so we got our seats immediately.  We were served a small bowl of sugar coated anchovies for us to eat while browsing through the menu.  I seriously LOVE these things and I was so happy when it arrived at our table.

SUMO SAM_anchovies

I ordered a serving of Dynamite Rolls (Php168), which are maki filled and topped with spicy tuna chunks.  Definitely one of The Boyfriend’s and my favorites!  The only thing I didn’t like was the dipping sauce they included with the maki.  It was sweet and I felt that it was inappropriate.  I stuck to eating the maki without dipping it into anything, not even in my soy sauce and wasabi.

SUMO SAM_dynamite rolls

The Boyfriend chose another maki for us to share: Las Vegas Rolls (Php219). This maki dish is made of baked scallops and topped with more (albeit smaller pieces of) scallop and a lot of cheese.

Photobucket

For my main dish, I decided to give the Fish and Tofu Fries with Wasabi Mayo (*Whew!*) a try.  I really enjoyed the tofu fries, especially with its crunchy breading.  I loved the wasabi mayo dip too.  Despite these, I don’t think I’ll be ordering this dish again.  For Php218, I didn’t feel like it was worth my money.  The dish came with only three thin pieces of fried fish and they weren’t any bigger than the tofu fries… As you can see below, the tofu fries are on the right and the fish are on the left.

SUMO SAM_fish & tofu fries

The Boyfriend ordered the Steak Match, which is basically the bento box in Sumo Sam.  These sets come with a bowl of miso soup, a bowl of salad, a serving of California Maki, a bowl of fried rice, your choice of beef or chicken and your choice of another viand.  The Boyfriend ended up ordering the beef set and salmon teriyaki as his extra.  This entire set costs Php519.

SUMO SAM_miso soupSUMO SAM_salad
SUMO SAM_California MakiSUMO SAM_steak match

I know the steak in the picture doesn’t look too good ( I will post pictures taken in better lighting conditions next time, I promise!), but The Boyfriend says it was yummy and was cooked just right.  Since I don’t eat beef, I ended up eating the mushrooms from his mushroom gravy instead.  He didn’t want it all that much anyway (hehe!).

I have been able to try the chicken set the time I was at Sumo Sam with my family a couple of months before, and I ordered the salmon as my extra source of protein too.  I have to admit that the salmon was terrific, so I took a small bit from The Boyfriend’s dish.   Here’s a closer look at the salmon teriyaki:

SUMO SAM_salmon teriyaki

The Boyfriend and I both had iced teas to wash the food down.  I had the Red Iced Tea, and he had the Green Iced Tea.  Both were refillable and costs Php88 for each glass.

Photobucket

We finished eating our lunch after an hour and The Boyfriend felt like he was going to explode.  I have to admit, he did end up eating a whole lot since I kept on sharing my food with him, and all that time the only thing I ate from his Steak Match was the California Rolls (excluding the small bit of salmon and the mushrooms hehehe)…

I’m glad that we both enjoyed the meal even if we decided to skip dessert.  I mean, seriously, with all that yummy food, great conversation and a marvelous foodie partner, how can I ask for more? 🙂

***Sumo Sam is located at the 6th Floor of the Shangri-La Plaza Mall in Mandaluyong.  They also have another branch in the Powerplant Mall in Makati.

4 Responses to "Sumo Sam Lunch"

SUSHI SUSHI SUSHI SUSHI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! heee…

YUM YUM!!!!!!!!!!!

i love sumo sam! love the salmon steak and all their sushi!!!!

[…] already visited the restaurant for several more times after that (I’ve blogged about one of our other visits before). The last time was just this Sunday when I was at their Trinoma branch. The Boyfriend and I […]

Share your thoughts!

October 2008
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 92,996 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other subscribers