Have at you!

Banapple and Frutti Froyo

Posted on: November 28, 2010

I joined my high school friends for a movie date at Trinoma this afternoon. I didn’t know that there was a sale going on so I was a little vexed that there were loads of people in the mall. We caught the 1p.m. showing of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 by securing our seats through reservation. The movie itself was okay, although since I wasn’t able to read the book first before I watched it, I felt a little bummed out.

Anyhoo, when the movie was over, our group decided to leave the mall and proceed to Il Terrazzo to grab an early dinner.  Three of the people who were with us for the movie were, unfortunately, unable to join us for dinner because of other commitments.  Those of us who were left chose Banapple.  It’s a place that’s well known for their cakes and pastries, some of which I’ve been able to try before.  Today was the first time for me to try their actual meals, however, so it was really exciting for me since I’ve heard of good reviews.

Banapple logo

Den had her dish served first. She ordered the Baked Fish Gratinee with Scalloped Potatoes, which tasted pretty good.  I think it was the mozzarella on top that made it a winner for me. I wasn’t able to taste the potatoes, but I’m thinking it was good too since I didn’t hear anything negative from Den.

PhotobucketBaked Fish Gratinee with Scalloped Potatoes, Php175.00

It was Lene’s dish which was the next one to arrive.  She had Beef Salpicao, which she said was good too.  I wasn’t able to taste it due to dietary limitations but I thought it looked divine.  She washed all those down with a glass of home made iced tea.

PhotobucketBeef Salpicao, Php180.00

PhotobucketIced Tea, Php55.00 per glass

The Boyfriend was served next with his Crisp Pork Scallopini with Sour Cream Barbecue Sauce. He said it was okay, but he preferred the one that I ordered a little more. We didn’t know this when we were eating, but apparently, The Boyfriend’s entree was one of the new dishes which Banapple introduced recently.

PhotobucketCrisp Pork Scallopini with Sour Cream Barbecue Sauce, Php170.00

Last but definitely not the least, my Pan Fried Porkloin with Herb Mushroom Gravy was served and boy, was it good! I love mushroom gravy and this one pretty much hit the spot. I know it doesn’t look like much in the photo below, but you might want to give it a try to judge for yourself.

PhotobucketPan Fried Porkloin with Herb Mushroom Gravy, Php170.00

Since Banapple was a desserts place and the cakes displayed were just too hard to resist, the group decided to pick one cake slice and share it among ourselves.  We chose the Jeepers Creepers Pie and everyone enjoyed it very much. Den and Lene kept on picking on the crust while I enjoyed the chocolate mousse (which is very typical of me, I might add).

PhotobucketJeepers Creepers Pie, Php100 per slice

Banapple has a decent Pay-As-You-Order system and their service was quick and efficient.  The food was served hot and everything was just about right.  I definitely wouldn’t mind dining at Banapple again, although maybe I’ll visit their Katipunan branches next time just so that I’d see if it feels as homey as the one in Il Terrazzo.

We were already full but everyone was still up for some frozen yogurt because Frutti Froyo was just across the street.  We trooped over and made our own concoctions.  This was one of the newer breeds of froyo places where the customers are the ones who place everything together and just pay the corresponding amount depending on the total weight of the cup’s contents.  It was at Php18/ounce.

Photobucket

There were a lot of froyo flavors and toppings to choose from.  The Boyfriend and Den opted for blueberry-classic yogurt duos, while Lene and I opted for the classic alone.  I topped mine with my staples when it’s my first time to try out yogurt places: fresh mango and kiwi slices. My cup had the final weight of 8.5 ounces which totaled to Php153.00.

PhotobucketMy concoction of classic yogurt with fresh mango and kiwi slices.

PhotobucketThe Boyfriend’s classic and blueberry duo with fresh mangoes.

When our cups were emptied and we felt satisfied, it was already time to head home.  I found the entire day to be a fantastic one, mainly because it was filled with a lot of laughter and good food.  I had a great time and I’m looking forward to seeing the girls and the boys again in a few days.  We’ve got good things packed for one heck of a December! 🙂

4 Responses to "Banapple and Frutti Froyo"

i love banapple too!!! the best banoffee pie, honey lovin crunch cake & myster-reese’s pie 🙂 i just had jeepers creepers pie this morning– first time to try it & it’s good (considering that I’m not so fond our mousse-type cakes)!

I haven’t tried the myster-reese’s pie but will definitely do one of these days! 🙂

I will try to order the Jeepers Creepers pie next time… mukhang masarap!
xoxo
MrsM

It is! Let me know what you think once you’ve tried it. 🙂

Share your thoughts!

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 89,295 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other followers

