Have at you!

There’s a first time for everything

Posted on: January 17, 2011

Last Saturday was a very full day for me. It was my first time to be part of a team who was coordinating everything for a wedding, and excitement + exhaustion + nervousness was all part of the mix. It all started a couple of weeks back, when a good friend of mine asked me if I wanted to be part of her team. I’ve always been interested in setting up events, especially weddings, but I didn’t really know where to start. I think my curiosity in the events industry seemed to have started when I was still very young, thus, my insatiable interest in sketching designs for dresses, flipping through endless forms of media for ideas on parties, interiors and food preps, perfect locations and beautiful stationery prevails until this very day.  So when the opportunity came knocking and even if I knew that I wasn’t going to be doing much of the major things in terms of the wedding details, I just had to say “Yes!”. I was more than just elated!

When I joined the team, I had under a month to familiarize myself with several ideas and everyone was tasked to handle something for the event. The last week leading to the Big Day was the most stressful (especially since it was coupled with the regular demands of our corporate jobs), but it was all worth it. After helping out with some of the preparations in the garden where the reception was to be held, I headed towards the hotel where I was to accompany the bride and ensure (as much as I can) that she won’t be late for the ceremonies and that we won’t be missing anything important. I was a little nervous during this part but it was such a blessing that the bride and her family were a nice bunch. 🙂 The bride looked so radiant in her white and red wedding gown, and I was very amused watching and observing how the photographers were taking her photos everywhere – the hotel room, the lobby, entering the bridal car, etc.

After assisting the bride before her actual walk down the aisle and conquering stage fright when I had to go “onstage” and invite several people for the group photo sessions with the newlyweds, I was already able to relax a bit. Despite the sudden downpour, the reception at the garden went pretty well and the entire team was happy that it was a success. I’m very proud of my friend, Rose, for leading the team and pulling it all off. Kudos! 🙂

Sadly, I wasn’t able to bring my trusty Nikon with me to take photos, but I’m hoping we’d get to see photos of the event as they were captured by the team of excellent photographers we worked with. The group was amazing and their on-site video presentation was stunning! Being part of the event was so surreal; learning a lot of new things plus meeting new individuals were just the icing on the cake. The team and I are looking forward to (hopefully) more events that we could work on, so if you have something you would want to have us handle, please feel free to let us know! 😉

more ID's for Event 1This shot of our ID’s was taken by Louisa. There were still some people who were part of our Team, but we were unable to get a photo where everyone’s ID’s were laid out.

Share your thoughts!

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 89,844 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other followers

