Have at you!

You Jie Xiao Chao

Posted on: April 4, 2011

There’s a small hidden treasure near Rockwell where you can get delicious Chinese food. The place has been referred to as the “Secret Restaurant” because the place looks like your ordinary house and it doesn’t have any signs outside, but its real name is You Jie Xiao Chao. It’s not a fancy place but it’s frequented by a lot of Chinese individuals.

You Jie Xiao Chao_logo

I love this place mainly because it reminds me of the time I spent in China. Everything from the seats, the table numbers plastered on the walls, the noise…they remind me so much of the things I experienced before. The food, of course, was really good and it’s not all that expensive too! ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s a glimpse of some of the things I’ve already tried at You Jie Xiao Chao:

You Jie Xiao Chao_fried kuchay dumplingsFried (Kuchay) Dumplings. These are yummy vegetable-filled dumplings which are served with black vinegar. I used to eat a lot of these in Xiamen and Guang Zhou. ๐Ÿ™‚

You Jie Xiao Chao_hotpot eggplantHotpot Eggplant. Definitely a must-try if it’s your first time eating at You Jie Xiao Chao. This is really delicious; one of my favorite dishes of all time!

You Jie Xiao Chao_braised porkSteamed/Braised Pork. I don’t remember what this dish was called, but this is ideal if you have kids or individuals who like sweet dishes dining with you. The pork slices are tender and are served over a bed of veggies (I think it’s kiam chai). Eating this will remind you ofย cuapao, just without the mantao/bun.

You Jie Xiao Chao_porkI’m sorry but for some strange reason, I can’t remember any of the pork dishes’ names. ๐Ÿ˜ Of all the dishes which I’ve tried at You Jie Xiao Chao, this is probably the one which garnered the lowest number of points for me. There wasn’t anything special and it tasted a little bland.

You Jie Xiao Chao_steamed fish headSteamed Fish Head. This is THE dish to order when eating in this restaurant. A word of caution though: This is not for the fainthearted. This is my favorite of all the dishes because of two things: (1) it’s spicy, and God knows how much I LOVE spicy dishes, and (2) it’s huge and not just because of the bones. If you’re not into spicy dishes then you may request the staff to have it toned down a bit, but based on my experience, it can still be a little tough to handle for those who are not used to the heat. This dish is definitely best when shared. ๐Ÿ™‚

Before I forget, they have eat-all-you-can (plain) rice for all customers. You can even go get your own from the rice cooker near the kitchen! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

**You Jie Xiao Chao is located at 6404 Camia Street, Guadalupe Viejo, Makati City.

3 Responses to "You Jie Xiao Chao"

That fish dish was HUGE! you can see the glass in the pic for comparison ๐Ÿ™‚

Everytime I dine here, they never fail to satisfy my tastebuds. ๐Ÿ™‚ My favorite is the Duck Hotpot, marinated fried duck. The taste is simple yet flavorful and goes very well with their unlim plain rice. And the Fried Beans with spicy salt, the only vegetable dish I can eat as a meal with rice.

http://freshcrumbs.blogspot.com/2010/11/hunan-food-in-camia-street.html

Hi Katherine,

Thanks for dropping by and sharing your favorite dishes! I’ve never tried their Duck Hotpot yet but will make sure I do so next time. ๐Ÿ™‚

~moxy

Share your thoughts!

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 90,149 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other followers

