Have at you!

Charlie’s Grind and Grill

Posted on: July 25, 2011

Last Saturday, my brother, Mom and I headed to Charlie’s Grind and Grill near Xavier to have lunch. My brother has been telling us about this place since he dined there with his high school buddies and after weeks of waiting, he was finally able to bring us there with him. The place was nice, but it was a bit too cramped for my liking. Service was quick and efficient, although I was wondering why all of their staff members looked so sullen that day. If they only gave out more positive vibes, I would’ve liked their place better.

Anyhoo, let’s move along with the stuff we had:

Buffalo Chicken WingsMy brother ordered a half dozen of Buffalo Chicken Wings. This came with ranch dressing and some vegetable sticks. I took the liberty of munching on those carrot sticks you can see at the back because my brother can’t stand carrots. These wings weren’t exactly spicy enough for me, but I think it was just right for my Mom and brother.

Gourmet Chicken SandwichMom and the big bro ordered the same thing: Gourmet Chicken Burger. They added fries to their burgers which meant they paid extra. The burgers were served with salsa and a piece of yellow chili (not pictured above). I didn’t get to take a bite out of their burgers so I wouldn’t really be able to say if it was delicious or not; however, I’m guessing this is the reason why my brother wanted to eat here again so it’s probably pretty good. 🙂

Pulled Pork Sandwich I initially thought of getting the chicken burger too, but I wanted to try something a bit different. I was drawn to the Pulled Pork Sandwich, which I think was solely because I’ve been seeing too much of pulled pork and grilled ribs on TV (thanks to TLC). My sandwich came with fries and a serving of coleslaw. The pulled pork sandwich was just okay for me. I think they went a bit wild with the sauce, thus making the sandwich too sweet for my liking. I had to tweak it a bit so that I wouldn’t be turned off by all the sweetness- and the remedy was to douse it with aioli. No dish ever goes wrong when they’re smothered with aioli. 🙂 Oh, the fries were awesome, by the way. 🙂

ColeslawThis was the coleslaw which came with my sandwich.

I wasn’t blown away with the stuff we had from Charlie’s, but I wouldn’t mind going back to try their other stuff. I’ll probably have to drag The Boyfriend or Pointyman so that somebody can eat the beef varieties and tell me if they’re any good, though.

By the way, Charlie’s also has a great selection of American beers (no photo of the fridge, sorry!), but since my brother had a 21km run the next morning, he decided to forgo the alcohol and stick to a can of soda. And if you’re craving for some froyo for dessert, Yoggle is just next door so you won’t have any problems satisfying our desires. 🙂

Share your thoughts!

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 89,295 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other followers

