Have at you!

Army Navy

Posted on: July 30, 2011

I used to think that Army Navy was a clothing line until I saw one of their branches inside a mall. After that revelation and seeing that they served non-beef entrees, I resolved to try eating there when I get the chance. That “chance” finally unveiled itself a couple of weeks ago when The Boyfriend and I were looking for a place to have dinner while we were in the Makati area. We weren’t in the mood to splurge in any fine dining restaurants and weren’t very hungry. He suggested that we might as well eat someplace inside the mall; Army Navy popped up in our conversation and off we went!

Army Navy_liberteaI heard that Army Navy’s Libertea (Large, Php65.00) was good, so I went ahead and ordered it for myself. I think it was just okay. My drink was served almost at room temperature; The couple of small ice cubes inside didn’t help much. I think the best iced tea would still be found in Cyma.

Army Navy_onion ringsWe ordered two sides that night, one of which was this serving of onion rings (Php65.00). They were thinly sliced, coated well and then fried to perfection. The Boyfriend loved this with ketchup; I prefered it plain or with aioli.

Army Navy_freedom friesThe Freedom Fries (Php65.00), the fries that made me grin from ear to ear. Boy, am I glad that The Boyfriend didn’t mind queueing up again to order this! Same with the onion rings, the fries were also very thinly sliced and fried perfectly. They reminded me so much of McDonald’s Twister fries minus the curls. I wish their servings were bigger, though. I could eat this all by myself and not even feel one ounce of guilt. ๐Ÿ™‚

Army Navy_carnitas burritoMy main meal for the night was the Carnitas Burrito (Php165.00). I actually snapped a photo of this when it was already partially unwrapped, but upon closer inspection after transferring it to my PC, I realized that it was a blurry, bad photo (thus, I couldn’t upload it here. Sorry!) The flour tortilla was supposed to be filled with pork, rice, onions, cilantro and beans, and then served with a wedge of lime, some salsa and aioli. My burrito would have been perfect except for the fact that I couldn’t see and/or taste the beans! I even asked the Boyfriend if he could detect any trace of the beans, but he also couldn’t find them. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I didn’t bother complaining to the staff since I still enjoyed the burrito; I just hope I can see actual beans when I order it again next time.

Army Navy_burger

The Boyfriend ordered the aptly named Burger (Php145.00), a single quarter-pound beef patty in a toasted sesame seed bun. He said it was just okay. I think he was contemplating whether he should have tried it with bacon slices and an egg (which you may request as add-on’s and if you’re willing to shell out a couple of extra pesos). I did inquire why he didn’t go for the Bully Boy Burger (triple quarter-pound beef patties), knowing that his carnivorous tendencies can handle it, but he said he’s no longer used to eating a lot these past few days. Maybe I’ll catch him trying it next time when he’s really hungry. ๐Ÿ™‚

I was stuffed by the time we finished eating, and I told The Boyfriend that we had to walk around the mall a bit to help our food travel through our systems. We both agreed that Army Navy was indeed a good place to dine and have plans of returning when the mood for burgers and burritos strike again.

I think that a hankering for the Freedom Fries is also a good enough reason to go back anytime. ๐Ÿ™‚

***There are a lot of Army Navy branches in the Philippines and here are just some of them: Glorietta 5, Makati City; Solaris One Bldg., Makati City; Sky Garden SM City North Edsa; along Tomas Morato in Quezon City; F. Ortigas Road in Pasig; and along Taft Avenue in Manila.

4 Responses to "Army Navy"

I love their burger too!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Have you tried the burgers with the egg? I’d love to hear if you enjoyed that version. ๐Ÿ™‚

I love their Steak Burrito and Freedom Fries ๐Ÿ™‚

The Freedom Fries are addictive!

Thanks for dropping by, Ms. Katz! ๐Ÿ™‚

Share your thoughts!

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 89,295 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other followers

