Have at you!

Are you up for some crocodile meat?

Posted on: August 13, 2011

I managed to attend the recently concluded World Food Expo 2011, thanks to my Best Friend who gave me free tickets to the event. I wasn’t aware that there was a food expo so when she told me that she already bought me passes to the event, I was thrilled! 🙂 Normally, I’d attend events on the first day of its run since it would guarantee better looking displays (especially with the cakes). Unfortunately, I had other commitments this time and had to wait until the last day of the World Food Expo before attending. I didn’t get to see a lot of decent cake displays this time around because of this, since most of the cakes have already been sliced (probably for the judging) or “disturbed” by people who were having difficulty understanding what “Do Not Touch” meant. Trust me, we saw numerous individuals who just couldn’t keep their hands off the displays and kept on poking the cakes with their fingers. 😦

Anyhoo, we were lucky enough to stumble upon a stall selling sausages. Not just your regular sausages though, but including those made from crocodile meat. Hero Sausages is almost always present at events (including Christmas bazaars) and I’ve seen them in malls too, but I’ve never tried their products. Normally I would just ignore their stall unless The Boyfriend decides that he wants to purchase something from them, but when I saw that they’ve started selling crocodile meat, my curiosity got the best of me -again.

PhotobucketAphrodisiac? Seriously? I didn’t notice that line until I’ve posted this photo here. 😀

Photobucket

I don’t know when they started selling crocodile meat, but all I cared about was that I had the perfect excuse to give it a shot, since I haven’t eaten lunch when we headed for the expo. Without any hesitation, I told The Boyfriend that I was going to try their (crocodile) Hungarian sausage. The Boyfriend knew better than to stop me from trying and decided to get one for himself too. He ordered the (crocodile) Australian Cheese sausage.

Photobucket

That’s a a shot of the (crocodile) Hungarian Sausage sandwich which I enjoyed munching on. It had a strong peppery taste, which I liked (and The Boyfriend disliked). I think the texture of crocodile meat is quite similar to chicken, and it’s also very light – similar to eating fish. Delicious stuff! The Boyfriend’s Australian Cheese one was a lot milder in taste and didn’t contain much cheese (sorry, no photo!).

I was contemplating if I should buy their other crocodile meat products and bring them home since they were offering a wide variety of stuff. They had Dundee Meat Fillet, Ribs, Tenderloin and even sisig! In the end, I decided against it; I was already satisfied with my sandwich. Maybe some other time. 🙂

If you wish to try their crocodile meat products, I chanced upon Hero’s stall in SM Mall of Asia and saw that they were featuring the crocodile meat sausages. Go grab yourself one. I hope you’d find them fascinating too. 🙂

Share your thoughts!

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 89,844 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other followers

