Have at you!

Kenji Tei Ramen House

Posted on: February 28, 2012

Most of my weekends are spent hanging out at Greenbelt. I’ve always felt very comfortable with the crowd there, and being surrounded by so many beautiful stores is a big advantage. Once a new shop opens, I’m usually quick to notice it and am very curious to see what’s inside. This was exactly how I felt when I saw Kenji Tei open their doors several months ago. I was interested with the place because of four reasons: (1) I love Japanese cuisine; (2) The name reminds me of Nihonbashi Tei, (3) they have pretty interiors, and (4) it’s blog material. 🙂

Unfortunately for me, it took me months before I had the chance to drop by their place. My brother was the first in my family to try it out, and reported that he did not find Kenji Tei’s ramen and sashimi that good. Because of this, I didn’t have any high expectations when I joined The Boyfriend’s family for dinner a couple of Sundays ago.

Kenji Tei_logo

Kenji Tei_California MakiThe Boyfriend really wanted to get some salmon sashimi; however, majority of our group did not enjoy eating raw slices of fish. So he was fine with having California Maki instead. This was just okay for us.

Kenji Tei_Japanese Fried RiceEach bowl of Japanese Fried Rice was enough for two individuals, provided both of them do not have big appetites. It is definitely bigger than what other places serve. It was okay; nothing spectacular but not a disappointment either.

Kenji Tei_oyster fryOyster Fry – The Boyfriend was the one who chose this off the menu because he was curious with how it would taste like. Unfortunately for us, it didn’t turn out to be as delicious as we imagined it to be. This was probably the worst dish of the night.

Kenji Tei_ebi tempuraThe Ebi Tempura was thankfully not mostly batter, so that alone was already a plus.

Kenji Tei_tofu steakThe Tofu Steak is a dish that The Boyfriend’s family usually orders whenever we dine at Japanese restaurants.  Kenji Tei’s version was pretty tasty, with just the right amount of saltiness to it. I think one can eat a lot of rice with just the sauce.

Kenji Tei_agedashi tofuAgedashi TofuThis dish was really not supposed to be served to us, but I asked The Boyfriend to take a photo of it first before bringing it to the attention of the wait staff. I can only say that the presentation was pretty, since we didn’t get to taste it. Maybe I can do that on my next visit.

Kenji Tei_chicken teriyakiPersonally, the highlight of the night seemed to fall on the Chicken Teriyaki. It was a sweet-salty dish which reminded me a great deal of the General’s Chicken from Recipes. I enjoyed it a lot and could only wish that the serving was bigger than it really was.

Overall, I think the stuff we’ve tried out were mostly decent. I didn’t get to verify if the ramen really didn’t taste that good, but will probably get to that when we return to Kenji Tei. I’ve already told The Boyfriend the list of things on the menu that I would like to try on a different day, and he has agreed to join me. 🙂

**Kenji Tei Ramen House is located on the 3rd floor of Greenbelt 5, Makati.

Share your thoughts!

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Blog Stats

  • 90,149 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other followers

