Have at you!

Myron’s Place: Greenbelt 5

Posted on: June 12, 2012

Last Saturday, The Boyfriend and I met up at Greenbelt to have his watch strap changed and to get my brother a birthday gift. It took us quite a while to finish all the things that we had to do, so dinner was obviously going to be held at the mall. After discussing our options, The Boyfriend decided he wanted to treat me to Myron’s Place at Greenbelt 5. He was already able to eat at the Rockwell branch with his family months before and wanted me to be able to try it too.

Myron's Place_complimentary breadWe were served complimentary bread to start our meal. When this small loaf was placed on our table, I couldn’t help but swoon. It smelled amazing and the taste wasn’t all that bad either!

Myron's Place_French Onion SoupNext up was my bowl of French Onion Soup (always something that I find very hard to pass up). This was a pretty big bowl, so The Boyfriend and I decided to split this between the two of us. Myron’s version is one of the best ones I’ve tasted so far, and I liked how piping hot it was. The Boyfriend found this desirable as well.

Myron's Place_Penne with Spicy ChorizoOur main courses arrived at the same time (that’s why you can see his on the photo above :P). I decided to go with Penne with Spicy Chorizo and Mushrooms for myself. I liked the fact that there were loads of chorizo, bell peppers (which were very sweet!), mushrooms and black olives in this one. It just goes to show that they did not scrimp on any of the ingredients. It was a tad saltier than expected, but it was still pretty good. That garlic stick right there was also delish!

Myron's Place_Mushroom Risotto with Seared Foie GrasThe Boyfriend ordered the fancier dish of the night, which was one of the house specialties: Mushroom Risotto with Seared Foie Gras. Believe me, he enjoyed this a lot! Again, Myron’s did not scrimp on the mushrooms and the other ingredients. The Boyfriend said he liked how the chunks of tomatoes unexpectedly helped balance the flavors when you’re eating this dish.

It was a first for both of us to eat foie gras and we both found it enjoyable. Maybe it’s because we didn’t have anything to compare it to, but we loved how Myron’s prepared this one. The outside was a just a bit toasted and the inside was creamy. Although you’ll notice a bit of an aftertaste linger in your mouth for a while, it wasn’t strong enough to turn us off. I found that once I drank some water, most of it was pretty much gone.

Myron's Place_butterfly iced teaFor drinks, The Boyfriend ordered a glass of Butterfly Iced Tea while I opted for water. I didn’t get to try this out, but he said that it tasted like it’s freshly brewed. A very far cry from the powdered versions easily bought from the groceries.

I have to be honest and admit that I was a bit hesitant about entering this restaurant because it looked like it was way too expensive. I wasn’t wrong about it being expensive, but I’m happy that The Boyfriend convinced me to give it a try. Myron’s Place is definitely not the type of restaurant which I’ll frequent due to budget constraints; however, if I do want to splurge a bit, then I wouldn’t mind spending my hard-earned money here.

**Myron’s Place currently has two branches: Ground Floor of Greenbelt 5, Makati and Ground Floor of the Power Plant Mall, Rockwell Drive.

Share your thoughts!

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 89,323 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other followers

