Have at you!

[Hong Kong] Watami Japanese Casual Restaurant

Posted on: September 17, 2012

I’m back from my trip to Hong Kong! ♥

It was a nice vacation, filled with a whole lot of walking around and hopping on and off trains. I love the Hong Kong MTR system, in the same way that I love the one in Singapore. I know I’ve mentioned this to my friends and family, but I’ll repeat it again: I’ve forgotten how it was such a breeze to navigate the entire city with the Octopus Card! :p

On one of our days out in the city, we took the MTR to the Citygate Outlet Stores to check if there are anything we can buy as mementos. If you have a lot of money to burn and are into branded items, then I think that this is one of the places that you should visit when in Hong Kong. Just make sure you’re very careful with your belongings as there are places where there are big crowds and you wouldn’t want to lose any of your valuables.

We also decided to have lunch at one of the restaurants inside the mall. At first we thought that we’d just grab a quick lunch at the Food Republic, but decided that we better try something else. The Boyfriend wanted Japanese food so we headed to Watami.

Watami_logo

The place was a bit dark inside, but I thought that their interiors were nice. I went through their menu very briefly and let the others choose the things that we were going to eat. Everything we ordered were enjoyed with cups of hot tea and big bowls of white rice.

Watami_assorted sticksOne of the things they chose was this serving of Assorted Skewers.There was a stick each of Chicken Thigh Skewer, Chicken Gristle Skewer, Chicken Wing Skewer, Beef and Eringi Mushroom Skewer, and Roasted Beef and Spring Onion Roll.

Watami_shrimp tempuraWe also had Shrimp Tempura. I think each piece of the tempura was smaller than what I’ve been used to here in Manila, but it was still okay.

Watami_fish cake with octopusWe also had this serving of Deep Fried Fishcake with Octopus.

Watami_honey soy chickenOne of The Boyfriend’s favorites from our meal was this serving of Crispy Chicken Wings. I have to agree that the wings tasted good. I think that the sauce and sesame seeds really made a difference.

Watami_They also decided to go with the Pork Tenderloin Cutlet...

Watami_pork tonkatsu with eggwith Scrambled Egg Sauce!

I found this amusing since they serve you the cutlets and the egg separately.  You get to be the one to crack the egg open, pour it on the cutlets and cook it a bit on the mini stove which they provide you. 🙂

Overall, it was a pretty satisfying meal! The serving sizes are a bit smaller than expected, but it was still good enough for our group of 5 adults. I guess I wouldn’t mind visiting this place again when I’m back in Hong Kong. 🙂

**This branch of Watami is located at Shop B13, B1/F, Citygate Outlets, 20 Tat Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong. 

Share your thoughts!

September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 89,844 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other followers

