Have at you!

Thai Bistro: Robinson’s Magnolia

Posted on: June 15, 2013

I’ve been to Robinson’s Magnolia several times and enjoy the place immensely. I like the fact that it’s not (yet) too crowded and that the air-conditioning has (so far) been operating quite nicely. Since I’m there for several hours at a time, it’s not unusual for me to look for a place to eat when the need arises. I rarely find myself at the al fresco area so I wasn’t aware that a Thai restaurant was located at the ground floor until I was invited by Aldous for an event last Thursday night.

Thai Bistro_storefront photo ThaiBistro_storefront_zps43beaa7c.jpg

The first adjective that came to my mind when I entered Thai Bistro was “posh”. It looked so high-end, but without being too formal. I liked the high ceilings and warm colors all over the place. Owner and Chef Cecille Chang (also known as the Chef in Stilettos) was personally there to talk to us and share a lot of information about her restaurant.

Thai Bistro opened their doors to the public in August 13, 2012. Ms. Chang has spent a lot of time traveling all over Thailand, learning about the country’s food. Her extensive training has allowed her to create the various dishes being served at her restaurant.

Thai Bistro_Refreshing Cucumber Mint photo ThaiBistro_RefreshingCucumberMint_zps8580012e.jpgThere’s a wide array of drinks which are available to diners. Some of those in our group chose to have the Refreshing Cucumber Mint (Php130.00).

Thai Bistro_Pandan Juice photo ThaiBistro_PandanJuice_zpsdc45d8c1.jpgAnother chose the Thai Green Milk Tea (Php110.00). I was thinking of getting this drink too, but decided I wanted to try something a little lighter…

Thai Bistro_Lemongrass Juice photo ThaiBistro_LemongrassJuice_zps32255b13.jpgSo I went with a glass of Lemongrass Juice (Php80.00) instead. This refreshing drink came with a small (shot)glass of syrup, which you mix with the juice. I only went with half of the syrup because I didn’t want my drink to be overly sweet.

Thai Bistro_Mieng Kham platter photo ThaiBistro_MiengKhamplatter_zps6c0dcc63.jpgThe first dish which arrived at our table was this platter of Mieng Kham (Php180.00), a traditional Thai appetizer. Ms. Cecille Chang told us to roll the entire leaf and eat it whole. On top of each leaf is a piece of shrimp, crushed nuts, a small bit of chili and burnt caramel with fish sauce. 

This was my first encounter with this type of appetizer and I must say, it was VERY good. I honestly liked every single thing about this dish.

Thai Bistro_Mieng Kham close up photo ThaiBistro_MiengKhamcloseup_zpsb817ebc2.jpgHere’s a closer look at the appetizer. I was able to eat two of these: one without the chili and one with the chili. I really enjoyed the one WITH the chili because it managed to elevate the flavors to a different level.  

If you’re up for the challenge but are feeling unsure if you can handle the heat, I suggest you have something to wash it down within your grasp. If you’d really rather skip the chili, that’s perfectly fine too. No one’s going to judge you. 🙂

Thai Bistro_Choo Chee Roti photo ThaiBistro_ChooCheeRoti_zps90fabe91.jpgNext came a serving of Choo Chee Roti (Php195.00), buttered roti served with a small bowl of red curry dip. I’ve always been a big fan of roti, so this was a real treat for me! The red curry dip isn’t spicy at all. Perfect for non-spicy food lovers out there.

Thai Bistro_Spicy Tomato Dip photo ThaiBistro_SpicyTomatoDip_zps106ca6ee.jpgChef Cecille asked us if we wanted try their other dip: the Spicy Tomato. This was supposed to serve with herbed roti, but it was still fine with the buttered roti that we were already having. I liked this one better than the red curry dip. 

Thai Bistro_Pink Pomelo Salad photo ThaiBistro_PinkPomelosalad_zpsb592d4ea.jpgThe Pink Pomelo Salad (Php360.00) was served next. This salad had chicken, shrimp and various herbs along with the pomelo. It was all mixed together to create a dish that served as a nice palate cleanser. 

Thai Bistro_Pad Thai photo ThaiBistro_PadThai_zpsc6fd144e.jpgOne of the most usual Thai dishes being ordered is the Pad Thai (Php320.00). This type of stir-fried noodle dish is a favorite of many people I know. 

Thai Bistro_condiments photo ThaiBistro_condiments_zpse662d4d1.jpgIt came with an assortment of condiments which you can mix with the noodles to achieve the taste that’s most suitable for your palate. From left to right, you have chili flakes, sugar, fish sauce and distilled vinegar.

Thai Bistro_Siam Chicken Wrap photo ThaiBistro_SiamChickenWrap_zpsb6874360.jpgThe Siam Chicken Wrap (Php315.00) arrived at our table simultaneously with the other dishes. When I first saw this dish, it reminded me so much of the Chinese Lettuce Wraps my family and I enjoy at restaurants and at home. In Thai Bistro, you get to put the crispy noodles and the ground chicken & chili inside the leaves and enjoy a simple, yet flavorful, treat.

Thai Bistro_Thai Ravioli photo ThaiBistro_ThaiRavioli_zpsef8ae276.jpgWhat you see above is a photo of the Thai Ravioli (Php295.00). Inside each rice paper is a mixture of beef and shiitake mushrooms.  Sadly, because of some dietary restrictions, I wasn’t able to try this one out and had to rely on the others for feedback. I received positive reactions for this one.

Thai Bistro_Bagoong Rice photo ThaiBistro_BagoongRice_zps3dfb4afb.jpgBagoong Rice (Php315.00) is another one of those dishes usually ordered by customers in Thai restaurants (my family included). Thai Bistro’s version had all the other ingredients circled around the rice, allowing the customer to mix it all by himself. 

Thai Bistro_Sala Daeng photo ThaiBistro_SalaDaeng_zps135bf97b.jpgOne of the dishes which I consider to be highly amusing that night was the Sala Daeng (Php328.00). I love discovering new & unusual dishes and this one definitely did not disappoint. These are actually lemongrass florets stuffed with chicken and are then fried. They are served with a sweet chili sauce on the side.

I’m thankful that Chef Cecille decided to demonstrate how to properly AND easily get the chicken inside, or I might have looked really silly trying to eat this dish. :p You have to cut through a part of the floret and then scrape the chicken meat off the lemongrass. It takes a bit of practice to get the chicken meat out without creating a mess though. Give it a try when you’re visiting this place. 🙂

Thai Bistro_Lamb Shank Massaman (Small) photo ThaiBistro_LambShankMassamansmall_zpsa7136434.jpgThose closest to me know that I’m a big fan of lamb. Just imagine my delight when Chef Cecille said that she’ll be serving the Lamb Shank Massaman (Php120.00/100 grams) to us that evening! The meat was very, very tender and was served with crispy noodles and sweet potato chips. The meat itself was already a winner, but I must commend the use of sweet potato chips. That in itself was a winner too! This dish was, without a doubt, my other favorite (along with the Mieng Kham). 🙂

Thai Bistro_Sticky Rice with Mango photo ThaiBistro_StickyRicewithMango_zps1383ac1b.jpgI was already pretty full when we finished with all the mains, and yet I was glad I still had some room for dessert. We were given the chance to sample three types of sweets that evening. The Sticky Rice with Mangoes (Php210.00) was one of them. Thai Bistro uses rice imported from Thailand for this dessert and it was yummy. Don’t forget to drizzle some coconut milk over your sticky rice and mangoes for added oomph.

Thai Bistro_Takhoo Thai photo ThaiBistro_TakhooThai_zps1e01c800.jpgThe Takhoo Thai (Php180.00) was another delicious dessert. These are tapioca pearls topped with coconut pudding. This dessert wasn’t too sweet, so it was perfect for people like me.

Thai Bistro_Tapioca Pearl closeup photo ThaiBistro_TapiocaPearlcloseup_zps61fc463e.jpgHere’s a photo of the tapioca pearls inside.

Thai Bistro_Bistro Nest photo ThaiBistro_BistroNest_zps980efb7c.jpgLast, but definitely not the least, was the beautiful Bistro Nest (Php240.00). Those are crispy slivers of taro and sweet potatoes, topped with homemade coconut ice cream. Drizzle some of the Kaffir caramel sauce served alongside for a really nice touch. 🙂

Dining at Thai Bistro was an enjoyable experience for me. I was amused by everything, from the food presentation to the overall atmosphere of the place. Prices are a little higher here compared to the other Thai places I’ve been to, but I think most of the dishes are pretty worth it.

It was also such an honor to have Chef Cecille spend time with us. We know how busy she can be, and yet she didn’t mind sharing things about her experiences, her food, her schooling and even her diving trips! Big thanks to her and her team for being so accommodating to us that evening. ♥

**Thai Bistro is located at the Ground Floor of Robinson’s Magnolia Town Center, Aurora Blvd. corner Doña Hemady, Quezon City. You may visit their official Facebook page by clicking here

**Thank you, Wazzup Pilipinas, for organizing this event.

1 Response to "Thai Bistro: Robinson’s Magnolia"

thank you for positive reviews… so proud of THAI Bistro.. :)))

Share your thoughts!

June 2013
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 89,297 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other followers

