Have at you!

[Malaysia] Kuan Hwa Seafood Restaurant, Kuala Selangor

Posted on: August 29, 2013

Three days out of our one-week stay in Malaysia were spent on day tours. We had the privilege of booking a fantastic tour group with Kannan being our personal tour guide/ driver. I haven’t participated in a lot of tours since most of my travels consisted of navigating the streets and sights on my own, but I was definitely impressed with how Kannan kept us company in those three days. He was one of the friendliest and most patient people I have ever met.

One of the activities he had us attend was the Fireflies Tour in Kuala Selangor. The location for that was roughly an hour’s drive from Kuala Lumpur. Prior to that, we were ushered to Kuan Hwa Seafood Restaurant, a seafood place overlooking the river, to make sure we have a full stomach before heading to the boat.

Kuan Hwa signage photo KuanHwaSignage_zps854d2f75.jpg

Kuan Hwa Seafood Restaurant_reserved sign photo Reservedsign_zps9e3219ff.jpgThere were a lot of these signs on the tables located in one side of the restaurant. It’s so obvious that these were all for the tourists who will be participating in the Fireflies Tour.

Kuan Hwa Seafood Restaurant_Fried Fish photo KuanHwa_friedfish_zps602df777.jpgWhen we were finally seated comfortably, Kannan informed us that our meal for the night has already been pre-ordered and all we had to do was wait for the dishes to arrive. I, for once, was glad about this since it meant that I had some time to appreciate our surroundings instead of debating on what to order.

One of the dishes we had was this platter of fried fish. I honestly had no idea what kind of fish they served us since the wait staff were all in a rush and simply dumped most of the dishes on our table. It didn’t help that the ones we spoke with all seemed so shy. There was one who was able to quickly converse with us in Mandarin, but it was just to ask us for our drinks.

Kuan Hwa Seafood Restaurant_Nestum Prawns photo KuanHwa_NestumPrawns_zps9c28eb4a.jpgOne of my favorite dishes for the night was this platter of Cereal Shrimp. I really enjoy this dish anywhere I go; mainly for the sweet-spicy flavor and the texture of the cereal. I plan to recreate this dish here at home.

Kuan Hwa Seafood Restaurant_Fried Crab photo KuanHwa_FriedCrab_zpsed26649c.jpgA crab dish was also part of our meal for that night. Although these crabs were a bit on the small side, I think everyone was still able to try some of it. The Boyfriend was really nice enough to get his hands dirty and smash open a claw or two so that I could get the meat easily.

Kuan Hwa Seafood Restaurant_Mixed Vegetables photo KuanHwa_MixedVegetables_zps94c5a47c.jpgThis Mixed Vegetable dish was nothing too extravagant but I found it to be pretty nice.  I liked how the vegetables weren’t overcooked and still had that nice crunch to them.

Kuan Hwa Seafood Restaurant_Fried Rice photo KuanHwa_friedrice_zpsd2b98636.jpgI also had quite a big serving of the Fried Rice and really didn’t mind if I no longer got to eat more of the other dishes (cereal prawns excluded!). I found this one to be strangely comforting; it’s like being at home and eating the stuff that my Dad makes.

In all honesty, I thought we had a pretty decent meal at Kuan Hwa. It was nothing mind-blowing but it did make us full and ready to go through the Fireflies Tour. We ended the meal around 7 or 7:30pm and were just in time for the next boat that would leave for the tour.

The tour itself didn’t take very long, and sadly, there weren’t a lot of fireflies out and about when we were there. I was expecting them to be flying all over the place, but they were mostly stuck within the trees. I think I may have watched too many cartoons and expected too much. 😛 It also didn’t help that some of the people we were in the boat with kept on using flash photography while trying to take photos of the insects. They were at it for quite some time despite the tour guide telling them to stop using their flash. 😦 Overall, it was an okay experience, but I most probably would not sign up for something like it again.

**Kuan Hwa Seafood Restaurant’s address is No. 1A, Jalan Bagan Sungai Yu Pasir Penembang 45000 Kuala Selangor.

1 Response to "[Malaysia] Kuan Hwa Seafood Restaurant, Kuala Selangor"

[…] When I visited Kuala Lumpur last year, it was my first time to try the dish called the cereal shrimp. I enjoyed it back then, so I suggested on ordering it when I saw it in Boon Tong Kee’s menu. The Cereal Prawns wasn’t exactly the cheapest thing off their list, with their regular serving of three pieces priced at Php375.00. […]

Share your thoughts!

August 2013
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 93,006 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other subscribers